Convert changeLog XML-File into SQL-File

Hello Community,

is it possible to convert a ChangeLog-File into SQL using liquibase or create a SQL-File using the diff-command

I compared two databases using the diff-command and got a ChangeLog-File (XML). I searched the web for a possibility to convert, but found nothing.

Do i miss some parameter something like updateSQL or rollbackSQl to create SQL for the diff-command?

I tried something like

liquibase --changeLogFile=~/change.xml updateSQL
  to convert
but get an error like

Errors: --url is required
Therefore i decided it is not the right command for me :-)

Regards,
Frank

I am no expert, so take my advice with that in mind

Almost every liquibase command needs connection parameters to connect to a database. If you run the command

liquibase --help

you will see that the following parameters are required.

Required Parameters: --changeLogFile=        Migration file --username=                        Database username --password=                        Database password --url=                              Database URL

Did you provide these parameters when executing the command?

(Tip) In order not to safe some time it is possible to put the connection information in a file named “liquibase.properties” and it will get picked up. for example:

username=developer password=s3cr3t url=jdbc:postgresql://localhost:5432/test driver=org.postgresql.Driver changeLogFile=changelog.xml

Hello,

thank you for your reply.

Yes, i was connected with the database when I created the XML-Changelog.
This worked fine, but my need is to find a way to convert a XML to SQL,
but I don�t see, why it should be necessary to be connected to a DB when
converting a File :slight_smile: But I will try this nevertheless.

Regards,

Frank 

I tried to pass the connection along with the command, but it does’nt worked.

There must be a way to get SQL :slight_smile: