Cross DBMS usage of createIndex

Hello!

I am new to liquibase and ran into a problem when trying to set it up.
I am currently testing with liquibase 3.0.4-SNAPSHOT because of a NPE bug.

My problem is related to the fact that some DBMS automatically create indices when adding constraints. I have the use case, that I add an unique constraint and after that an unique index. I am not sure if there are databases out there that do not automatically create an unique index when an unique constraint is created but for now I assume it.

The problem is that, especially in my testing environment where I use H2, the create index fails, because H2 detects that an unique index for the same columns is already present(although the indices have different names).
When I switch to a DBMS that does not automatically create the unique indices, the current changeSet should work.

Shouldn’t the createIndex change be automatically skipped if the index already exists? I could of course wrap every createIndex element in it’s own changeSet with a preCondition that checks if the index exists but that would be very verbose and also somehow DBMS dependent. One of the reasons for using liquibase is DBMS independence therefore I think this should be done automatically by liquibase.

Are there any plans on implementing this behavior?

Does anyone has an idea how to get that behavior from createIndex in code?

I wanted to ask you about the changesets too. Is it best practice to create so many changesets? I thought of a changeset as something that includes the changes of an app version. For example if I want to provide the initial structure of my DB, I thought that having just one changeset is suitable, but as it seems, multiple changesets are somehow encouraged. Also the diff tool produces multiple changesets instead of just one with multiple changes.

What is the best practice?