pom inheritance: patch attached

Not a big patcher, so hopefully I did this right.

Attached please find a patch against the trunk that allows compilation to run.  It adds a stanza to the pom.xml under liquibase-core.

Best,
Laird

I’m trying to figure out what our maven project config is supposed to look like, so it will deploy nicely.  The parent pom.xml seemed nice because it was one maven config you can run that compiels everything, but I was worried that when it comes time to deploy to a maven repository, since I had a node on liquibase-core it will list the parent project as another exported library, which is not the case. 

If I add to liquibase-core, what impact does that have on module deployment?

As you can tell, I’m new to maven…

Nathan

Well, if you want to have a setup that is familiar to Maven users, it would look something like this, starting from the root of your project, where the root is defined as the place where the Grand Supreme Ruler of All Liquibase POMs Shall Live (maybe CORE?):

pom.xml <-- the parent pom, specifying defaults for everything in the universe
liquibase-core/pom.xml <-- one kid
liquibase-somethingelse/pom.xml <-- another kid
liquibase-stillsomethingelse/pom.xml <-- still another kid

The top level pom will contain all the boilerplate cr*p concerning your organization, description, etc. etc.  In addition, it should have really beefy and sections.  These define default versions and configurations for all the external “things” kid poms will refer to.  It will have a type of pom.

It will also have a section, with one referencing each kid.

Each kid pom will specify a stanza that points back to the parent pom.  Parent has modules (kids); kids each point back to the parent that contains them.

In addition, each kid pom will specify only those things which differ from the parent pom.  Kid poms are generally quite small, since usually you’re using defaults configured higher up.