Spring Autowiring in CustomChange classes

I was wondering if there were any plans to enable Spring support inside CustomChange classes?
Specifically the ability to use @Autowire

Hi @sergek ,

Welcome! Would love to help but I am not a Spring expert, could you walk me through what you specifically want Liquibase to do?

What is the SQL or changeset you wish to run?

Thanks,

Ronak

@ronak thanks for following up.

The majority of our migrations have some form of application logic being executed as part of a database update. For example, I need to add a column for a new entity attribute. Adding the column is one of many parts of the process. We also need to auto-populate it using some business rules and populate a number of other, associated tables with aggregated data that’s based on the new attribute.
Dependency injection of the rules engine and other components is currently done through Spring service “autowiring” in our in-house migrations framework.
I am in process of evaluating liquibase and flyway as potential replacements for our in-house system.
I’ve tried using @Autowired annotation in CustomChange classes and it doesn’t work, even when I used SpringLiquibase method of triggering update.
I was able to get this work in FlyWay. They also have CustomChange changetype (referred to as Java migrations) and from my digging through their source code, it looks like they instantiate customchange classes and wrap them in Spring context, thus enabling @Autowiring support.
I would like to know if there are any plans to introduce similar functionality in LB

Hey @sergek,

I am talking to the community support team. Hang tight, we’ll respond shortly.

We don’t currently have the internal spring integration we’d need to support the autowiring. Since you have found the spot in the flyway code that does that wrapping, feel free to send it along so we can look at adding that in as well.