Augmenting existing change with additional properties

I’m fairly new to Liquibase, so I apologize if this is a stupid question, but after experimenting and reading the docs, forums, etc., I’m stuck. Here’s my problem: I think I need to enhance/extend the createTable element to handle additional properties, but I’m having no success accomplishing this. Is this possible?

We’re using Oracle and need better control over table creation syntax than what the core functionality provides. For example, I would like to add a boolean attribute of “parallel” so we can add either “parallel” or “noparallel” to the end of create table statements. There are many other things I would like to specify as well (e.g. params for primary key like initial size, maxextents, pctfree, etc.). I’ve tried accomplishing this using the modifySql functionality, but that raised other issues (i.e. it appended my text to all the comment creation statements from the “remarks” attributes as well).

I know I can get around this by not using the “remarks” tags and using the replace functionality, etc., but by the time I do all of that, it is simpler to have just used a “sql” tag and written the SQL by hand. There are other tags I’d like to extend in similar ways as well. Also, I know I could just re-implement the createTable functionality within my own change tag, but that seems silly - I just need to extend it.

Is it possible to accomplish what I’m trying to do? Can someone point me in the right direction? All of the tutorials I’ve found seem to deal with implementing new change tags, not extending existing tags.

Thanks for any advice.

Ryan

Originally posted by: rowens
I'm fairly new to Liquibase, so I apologize if this is a stupid question, but after experimenting and reading the docs, forums, etc., I'm stuck. Here's my problem: I think I need to enhance/extend the createTable element to handle additional properties, but I'm having no success accomplishing this. Is this possible?