FeatureRequest: Specify the 'database' version using properties (updateDatabase)

Hi,

i’am currently using liquibase with pleasure. But i’m missing one thing that stops me to automate my release process.

Story:

To prepare a release I need a SQL File containing all changeSets for a target version. As a developer I want to specify that target ‘database’ version using properties instead of a database table (databasechangelog table) to be independent from the db.

Background:
Writing a lot of changeSets is easy. But to export them alltotether in one sql file can only be done by preparing a database for a certain version and run the task updateDatabase against it. This takes a lot of time.

idea:

I can imagine that this feature is easy to accomplish by changing the code that is taking the version information from the database table to use a property if available.

Because we need this feature soon I could also try to implement it and provide a patch or whatever. How do you think about that?

Regards,
Oliver

(Sorry for the slow response, I’ve been on vacation and far behind since then)

It should definitely be doable, possibly even using the extension system (http://liquibase.org/extensions)

If you wanted to provide a patch, that would be great.  I would take a look at it and apply it if it looks good.

Nathan

Okay, I will provide a patch here when I finish the feature.
Regards,
Oliver

+1 for that!
How about discussing the design in public, I would also contribute.

Actually, I just registered to the forum to post this: