preconditions failure (<not><tableExists>)

hi

i am new to liquibase.

in the process of starting with liquibase, i created a baseline of our legacy db schema. updates are then made relative to this baseline.

i ran into errors when running the baseline + updates for the first time against an existing database consisting of just the baseline schema.

the baseline itself failed. this was due to tables already present.

i then updated the baseline to include preConditions, e.g.:

psql also confirms that the table exists:

\dt alarm
          List of relations
 Schema | Name  | Type  |   Owner
--------+-------+-------+------------
 public | alarm | table | myUser
(1 row)

when running this new update it failed again:

SEVERE: Preconditions Failed                                                                                                                         

liquibase.exception.MigrationFailedException: Migration failed for change set changelogs/r6.10/baseline.xml::1248689548526-1::naude_r (generated):                                                                                      
     Reason:                                                                                                                                         

Not precondition failed                                                                                                                      
:                                                                                                                                                      
          Caused By: Preconditions Failed

this was unexpected…but maybe i just do not understand how preConditions are supposed to work.

i did take a look at the code, both NotPrecondition and TableExistsPrecondition.

if a table exists then TableExistsPrecondition will not raise an exception. NotPrecondition will then error out because it expects an exception!