Liquibase generateChangeLog Failed: org/yaml/snakeyaml/representer/Representer

I got the same error too. It looks like liquibase cannot find snakeyaml jar on the classpath for some reason.
Another problem is that I need to explicitly set classpath for the driver. Placing the jar in the lib directory doesn’t help at all contrary to what readme.txt says.

I’m new to LiquiBase, so I’m not sure where I’m going wrong.

I’m running  … 12 more

I had the same error and finally decided to try a different package of the same version and it started to work.

I downloaded:

liquibase-3.0.4-bin.zip

rather than:

liquibase.properties

#liquibase.properties

driver=com.mysql.jdbc.Driver

classpath=/root/scripts/liquibase/lib/mysql-connector-java-5.1.17.jar:/root/scripts/liquibase/lib/snakeyaml-1.12.jar

changeLogFile=changelog/blah-diff-changelog.xml

url=jdbc:mysql://localhost:4000/blah

username=temp

referenceUrl=jdbc:mysql://localhost/blah

referenceUsername=temp

logLevel=info

logFile=log/liquibase.log

The mysql connector in liquibase/lib is just a symlink.

1. java -cp lib/snakeyaml-1.12.jar;liquibase.jar liquibase.integration.commandline.Main --defaultsFile props/mig.properties --changeLogFile generated.xml generateChangeLog 

The commandline above works for me to fix this:

1. Liquibase generateChangeLog Failed: org/yaml/snakeyaml/representer/Representer

If this is not going to be fixed then it should be noted in the doc that you have to add the yaml.jar to the classpath by yourself.

Thanks for the suggestion. 

I tried it, but I get the same output.

I should add that I’m running this on my Mac - does that matter?

I’ve switched back to version 2.0.5 and it works there.